Trip to the market brings unexpected surprise

While living in Toronto, it was very rare (and I mean rare) to meet someone you knew when going downtown. Once I bumped into a friend on a subway platform, and that in itself was a story to be told. We were both shocked at meeting each other.

In Whitehorse, it’s the other way around. Maybe that’s why I always feel so refreshed after Thursday’s trip to the Market. Today I met:

  • A friend and colleague I’ll be working with this year
  • My boss
  • A friend of the family
  • Parents of kids I’ll be teaching this year
  • 5 kids I’ll be teaching this year
  • Several acquaintances (4)
  • A couple of friends
  • And the biggest surprise: FAWN

We’ve never met face-to-face, and in an e-mail I sent this morning, I mentioned we should get together to meet for coffee, since we only live a short walk from each other. Her and Michael have posted pictures here and there of each other, and I immediately recognized her when I saw her, and let me tell you, she is very pregnant, very glowy (if that’s a word), and very gorgeous. Have you ever met someone whose eyes have two colours? I couldn’t help but to stare at her eyes. Don’t take this the wrong way, please, but I know beauty when I see it.

Nice to meet you Fawn!

13 Comments

  1. fawnahareo said,

    July 31, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Wow, Carole. *blushes furiously* Thanks so much for the compliments! I’m so thrilled that you recognized me and that you were bold enough to stop me! It’s so fun that we finally got to meet… But I’m still up for coffee! :D

  2. Kara said,

    July 31, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    And that is why I could never live in a city! The biggest place I have ever lived in was Prince George for 5 years- population 83k. I couldn’t stand it!

    I was picked out by a fellow bloggers as well when I was in Haines Junction. I got a real kick out of that! And most of the people who moved to Kugluktuk after we got there said they felt like they already knew us from the time they had spent reading our blog.

    I also agree that Fawn looks glowy- great word by the way!

  3. Murray said,

    August 1, 2008 at 6:46 am

    Meeting people you haven’t seen in a while is great fun here. Yesterday at Superstore I had a wonderful chat with a Holland America driver I haven’t seen in 3 or 4 years (except through a pair of windshields, for a second), and when I got back to the car after shopping there was a note from a dear friend who is long overdue for a beer (or 2 or 3) with me. :)

  4. August 1, 2008 at 8:37 am

    It’s funny how in a blogging community, you really do feel like you know each other even though you’ve never met. I think it’s an advantage when you do meet, as you have different things you can talk about because of having read the person’s blog and being on the up and up on things.

  5. Geof Harries said,

    August 1, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Hooray for the close-knit Yukon blogging community. It’s always fun when you finally get a chance to meet another person in real life because, as you’ve stated, if you read their blog, you feel like you know them fairly well already.

  6. August 1, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Yes, Geof, and speaking of which, we should really get together to meet folks from Urban Yukon. I know you tried in the past, and so have Fawn & Michael, but it just doesn’t seem to happen. Everyone’s busy with life. Maybe we should do a BBQ before the summer ends.

  7. Tammy said,

    August 1, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Sometimes I like it, but generally, I prefer to NOT meet people every time I step outside the door. Not that I would be rude, ever! But occasionally I miss the anonymity of a big city.
    It does come in handy, though, when I go shopping after work, and run into students who were “far too sick” to come to school that day!!

  8. August 1, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    I’m someone who likes the anonymity of the big city too, especially with the work I do (as you), but I’m a very social person, so I do like meeting people downtown. I guess I can’t have it both ways.

    It’s funny, because when I bumped into the parents/kids/colleagues/boss, I suddenly became hyper-aware of what I was wearing (a low V-neck shirt), and started buttoning up my sweater. I would never wear anything form-fitting or even slightly revealing in my place of work, but I like to not have to worry about those things when I’m out and about.

  9. Kara said,

    August 1, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Ohhhh a Yukon Bloggers BBQ! Now that sounds like a fun idea to me!

    I love blogging; I think I am actually addicted to it. I felt like I knew the group of Nunavut bloggers and have definitely developed some real friendships there. I am glad that the Yukon bloggers are just as nice!

    Sometimes I have no clue why people read my blog. We are not a very exciting family and for the most part it is just pictures of the kidlet- hehehe much to some bloggers dismay!!!

  10. Moon said,

    August 1, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Ok… you have freaked me out …..tell me about my blog ?!?!?1

    Can I come to the BBQ pls ….

  11. August 1, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Moon, if you make it to the Yukon, we’ll have a BBQ in your honour. Promise!

    Oh, and did I freak you out? GOOD! hee hee hee.

    Actually, I’m subscribed to your RSS feed through Google Reader (GR). What happens, is that GR picks up any new posts/entries on sites (like your blog) that I read regularly, which saves me the hassle and time of going to each individual site every time I’m on the net to see if there’s anything new.

    Sometimes after publishing a post on my blog, I realize that I’d prefer to publish it the next day instead, because I’ve already had a post that day. Well, GR will have already picked up the post, so people who are subscribed to my RSS feed can read it, even though it no longer appears on my blog.

    So, I’m betting that’s what you did. You had your post “Lost…” all ready to go, and decided that the earthquake news was more important. So you unpublished Lost… to have it appear a little later, and wrote a new one about the earthquake. Meanwhile, I read Lost… a couple of days ago, even though you published it (for the second time) today.

    Am I right?

    PS: BTW, your entry shows up twice on your blog. :)

  12. August 1, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Oh, and Kara? You too! You can come for a BBQ in my yard any time. Just let me know you’re coming and I’ll heat up the BBQ.

  13. Moon said,

    August 1, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    I know I know, DBM said so .. I re-posted it, but because of the date it appeared after the earthquake bit… all sorted, and yes, you are right, I posted it, then the earthquake hit, so I added that bit on ! ……. I thought you were inside my computer !!

    I will hold you to that bbq !!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

