Kiwifruit sauce

For the last week, I’ve been trying to find creative ways to get rid of foodstuff before it’s too late. “Never buy groceries on an empty stomach, my mother always warned me. I usually try to heed her advice, but for my last trip to the store, I must of had a brain fart, so I ended up with almost every fruit and vegetable under the sun.

Trying to get rid of way too many kiwifruit resulted in a tasty sauce that’s delicious over vanilla ice cream. Something has to balance out all those fruits and vegetables! Here’s what I did:

  • peel the kiwifruit – use a teaspoon and scoop the fruit out (I had about 10)
  • put in a food processor
  • add 1 cup white sugar
  • add 2 teaspoons of lemon or lime juice mixed with zest (adds a nice tang to the syrup/sauce)
  • simmer for about an hour

I poured the sauce into an empty bottle and keep it in the refrigerator. Deeee-lish!

5 Comments

  1. fawnahareo said,

    August 4, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    I wish you’d posted this a week or so ago. I had a good handful of kiwis that needed to be dealt with, and they’re not a fruit that generally lends itself to cooking. I ended up making creamsicles out of them, which I like, but no one else does. They DO turn a wee bit bitter as they start getting past it!

  2. August 5, 2008 at 7:19 am

    MMmm kiwifruit creamsicles sound very, very good. I’m the only one here who’ll use the sauce too. They don’t know what they’re missing. BTW, when I have stuff to get rid of, the first thing I do is google for recipe ideas. That’s where I got the idea for the sauce, otherwise I never would have thought of that. I didn’t follow the recipe directly, but it’s good for ideas.

  3. Moon said,

    August 5, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Send some down to me NOW pls ….

  4. Kara said,

    August 5, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    That sounds so gooooood!!!

  5. August 5, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Kara & Moon, when you come for a BBQ, I’ll make some for you.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

