Warm Beet Market Salad

For a scrumptilicious fantasmagorical warm beet salad, get fresh ingredients from your local market (I can’t say enough about the Fireweed Community Market), and toss ‘em all together. You never know what you’ll end up with. In my case, I ended up with this wonderful spur of the moment recipe.

  1. Boil red and white beets
  2. Boil (or steam) carrots
  3. Meanwhile, melt butter in pan.
  4. Sauté:
    • green onions
    • dill weed
    • sliced mushrooms
    • sliced collard greens
    • sliced beet greens
  5. Add to mix:
    • sunflower seeds
    • dried cranberries
    • 2 tsp. lemon juice mixed with zest
  6. When carrots and beets are cooked, slice and add to salad mix
  7. Toss salad with salt and pepper to taste

I had never tried collard greens before, and I didn’t know you could eat beet greens. Apparently turnip greens are also edible. Who knew!

Oh, and I purchased a beautiful original painting from Stace Pshyk.

4 Comments

  1. Tammy said,

    August 7, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    Beet greens are one of my absolute favourites!

  2. chocolateshavings said,

    August 8, 2008 at 11:03 am

    That sounds great, and reminds me I haven’t cooked with beets in ages.

  3. Kara said,

    August 8, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    That sounds good!!

    And guess what I made yesterday!!! Your kiwi sauce! It looks so good and I think I am going to make a cheesecake this weekend to put it on.

  4. August 24, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Kara, I’m interested to know if the rest of your family liked the kiwi sauce. I loved it, but nobody else would eat it. I had all my brother’s family taste it (5 people) plus my husband. I’m the only one who ended up eating it, and I still have some in the fridge. Kind of disappointing.

    Maybe drizzled over cheesecake is the way to go. Sounds delicious.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

