Marchand de Vin Sauce

Yesterday, Valentine’s Day, I was doing my daily web reading when I came across a fellow Urban Yukon contributor’s post, Yukon Jen. It was a warning about not buying a ham as a Valentine’s Day gift as it can spell disaster. Well, I hadn’t exactly bought a ham as a gift, but it was what I planned on serving for dinner. And, so far so good, it wasn’t disastrous.

In fact, I found an recipe for a sauce in my Joy of Cooking cookbook that looked interesting. It’s called Marchand de Vin sauce, which I had never heard of; it’s a butter and wine sauce. The only problem was that the cookbook’s recipe (on p.327) referred me to p.326 for Brown Sauce, and this recipe referred me to p.541 for Mirepoix, whatever that is. Why make it so complicated? I was ready to pull my hair out, so I gave up and went to the Internet to see what I could find.

My first hit was a hit, literally. I ended up finding a straightforward recipe that was absolutely delicious. You can find the recipe here at About.com, and you can also use it for steak and roasts. The flavour is out of this world!

Thank goodness for the Internet!

1 Comment

  1. MOM said,

    February 19, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    Hey Girl!!! Just checking a few things and found the recipe.Mmmmmmmmmmm,it sounds very good. I will try it on my ham and let you know how it tasted. Keep up the good work…
    Love MOM,oxoxoxoxo


Leave a Reply

