House-Sitting and Mughlai Lamb Biryani

Next weekend it’s house-sitting time at Robinson Subdivision, between Carcross and Whitehorse. What a spot! House-sitting for our friends there is like a vacation for us. They own a beautiful two-storey log home which they built themselves. The best part is the view! I’ve posted some pictures to show you what the view is like from the back door, as well as the red sky at sunset in December 2005.

When house-sitting, I enjoy spending a bit more time preparing some of my favourite recipes that require extra time. My mother-in-law gave me a delicious East Indian recipe for Mughlai Lamb Biryani from Madhur Jaffrey’s Illustrated Indian Cookery, which is currently unavailable to buy. It is a lamb and rice casserole drizzled with saffron milk and mixed with raisins. It’s hard to describe the flavour, though the saffron comes through nicely. The taste of this dish is unlike anything I had ever tasted before. I thought of writing out the recipe here, but it’s very, very long, and I did find another blogger who went through the trouble. So here it is, if you’re interested, thanks to Ruth Daniels in Toronto.

P.S. Actually, Ruth Daniels has such interesting recipes on her site that I’ve added her to my blogroll.

View from back of house

View from back of house 2

Red Sky at Robinson

3 Comments

  1. Ruth said,

    February 18, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    Carole, thanks so much for dropping by my site and adding it to your links.

    And what a beautiful view. I just might have to visit.

  2. Rachel said,

    June 22, 2007 at 9:01 am

    Hey Carole me and my friend Jessie are looking at your site and Jessie says she likes this picture!! I like it to but not just this one I like it all i’m sure Jessie would too but I’m still showing her so bye .

    Rachel, Jessie!!

  3. July 8, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Hi Rachel,

    Thanks for checking out the site with your friend. I can’t wait to come and visit you and your family again at the lodge. I hope you have a nice summer.

    Your new friend,
    Carole


Leave a Reply

