Tents: The Best Part of The Games

We finally got our favourite sporting event in: short-track speed skating relay race. We got there about 45 minutes early, were told at the information kiosk that they still hadn’t finished the previous races, and then there would be a 15-minute break before the relay would start on time at 4:50. We went upstairs to find a seat and realized that the relay races were just getting underway. Well, at least we did get to see them; thank goodness we were early.

Quebec took the gold, Ontario the silver, and New Brunswick the bronze for both male and female races.

After these races, I went down to see the performers in the tents on Second Avenue, and it was all free! The smaller tent held performances from First Nations people all over the north for the Gathering of Northern Nations. A real treat were the Deh Cho Drummers from NWT. In fact, they were so good that I returned later in the evening to see them perform again in the Atco tent. There were also throat singers and our very own Tlingit dancers from Teslin. Between performances, I enjoyed browsing the tables filled with beautiful moccasins, beadwork, and tools made by First Nations elders and others.

Another treat in the evening at the Atco tent was a performance by Serena Ryder. What a powerful voice this woman has. I truly felt that the events and displays in the two tents were the hightlights of the Games, and they appeared to be well organized to boot! Here are some pictures:

Deh Cho Drummer

Deh Cho Drummers

Throat Singers

Daniel Tlen, Singer

Tlingit Dancer

5 Comments

  1. stacie said,

    March 2, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    Hey, cool! Thanks for sharing the pics. I want to get down to the tents this weekend, it sounds like a good time.

    Glad you got to see the speed skating!! 🙂

  2. March 3, 2007 at 10:21 am

    The Dehcho Drummers RULE! Did you get up and dance?

  3. March 3, 2007 at 12:03 pm

    No, I didn’t dance, and I was the oddball because most people did. I was in awe at these drummers’ talent. I caught some of it on video using my digital camera, but unfortunately, the sound quality simply doesn’t do them justice.
    I don’t think they’ll be performing again, so I’m happy I got to see them twice. Apparently, the last time they were here was about 7 years ago. We need to get them back here more often! I got Jerry Antoine’s business card (the drummer with longer hair), so if anyone out there is interested in inviting them to Whitehorse again, I can give you the contact info.
    Carole

  4. Fawn said,

    March 8, 2007 at 10:07 am

    Two of the drummers were planning to stay in town to help out with the Dene games. (Some of the games, like stick gambling – a.k.a. “hand games – are traditionally played to the beat of the drum.) I think a few more drummers were going to be coming into town, too.

    Jerry told me on Saturday night that since they had arrived the week before, they had been asked to perform at quite a few extra events and the performance at the ATCO tent was their 16th that week!

  5. March 8, 2007 at 10:13 am

    I’ve been out of touch with what’s been going on as I’m recovering from a bad cold. Thanks for the info.

    Carole
    🙂


Leave a Reply

