No Parking for Locals?

If there’s one thing that I find annoying during the summer in Whitehorse, it’s the fact that the Yukon Visitor Information Centre down on Second Avenue has parking spaces specifically marked for out-of-town visitors only. I know we should make the downtown welcoming for visitors, but at the same time, if I’m inside the visitors’ building looking through pamphlets to help plan a visit from an out-of-town friend or relative, why can’t I use those parking spaces?

The person/people coming to visit me are spending dollars flying here, shopping here, and visiting here, and we use my vehicle to get around. Because of the Yukon license plate, however, I’m subject to receiving a parking ticket if I use those darn parking spaces. (In the by-law officers’ defense – or whoever issues these tickets – I only got a warning on my windshield last summer, not a ticket.) Rather than limit the users, why not limit the parking time only?

What brought forth this rant so early in the season is the fact that a friend of mine is planning a visit in late June. I’m very excited and looking forward to this. Thinking about planning for her stay, I thought I should go down and have a look at some of the pamphlets at the Visitors’ Centre. This brought back the memory of the warning in my windshield last summer. Ouch!

5 Comments

  1. blogrush said,

    April 22, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Its “YG employee parking only” that gets me. Their spaces should be open to anyone. YG people could park at Walmart and take that little government subsidized trolley to the office.

    Then government would get some great public transit developed in no time.

  2. Stacie said,

    April 22, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Just to let you know – the visitor centre staff is great and if you are going in there specifically for visitor info, they definitely won’t be giving you a ticket!! Just let them know, they are very easy to deal with and super helpful. They are the ones who monitor the parking lot.

    I agree though – limiting parking time is a great idea and would be easier to control and fair to locals.

    That said, you’re good for at least another couple weeks with the free-for-all parking! 🙂

  3. Fawn said,

    April 24, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Blogrush, are you talking about the parking spaces at the YTG Main Admin Building? Why do you think those spaces be open to everyone? How many non-employees really want to park at that building anyway? By the way, I would definitely have a problem with having to park at Wal-Mart when it’s already hard enough for me to get to work on time after wrangling a 15-month-old through our morning routine and getting her to daycare in Riverdale. Not to mention that the trolley doesn’t run in winter. And there are times when the YG parking lot is full enough that it can actually be a challenge for an employee to find parking. I don’t get your point on improving public transit — I mean, I get that it should be improved, but isn’t that a City of Whitehorse (not YG) mandate? It’s too bad Whitehorse is so poorly laid out so that it difficult just to walk to the places we want to get to. But there are folks in town (check out http://www.frozentires.com/) who are committed to using alternatives to get around.

  4. May 23, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Blogrush: I have to agree with Fawn, otherwise, where would the staff park? What I was talking about was the parking spaces for tourists only at the Visitor Information Centre. Public parking is just that – it shouldn’t leave Yukoners out.

    Stacie: Thanks for the heads up. I’ll definitely mention it to staff next time I’m in there. I’ll probably still be afraid of what I’ll find on my windshield, but I’ll give it a shot.

    Carole

  5. blogrush said,

    June 5, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    Staff parking is a privilege that is liberally provided to government workers. Private sector employees pay for their parking spots, and yes, drive around to find them, and walk long distances or run out and plug meters all day long. YG parking spots are not just at the main building, but are embedded in many lots around town (since some departments use their budgets to rent them for their higher ranking employees).

    With so many government staff driving to work and easily parking and plugging their cars in all day without care or concern — they will never understand that there might be a “problem”. (ie. For people without cars, for the environment, part time parkers, for people having to do government businesses, or people who have to pay hundreds of dollars a year for the same service, or for people who desperately want an improved transit system.)

    My point is, that without a critical mass of disgruntled government employees (both city and YG) to provide a sense of “problem” — that creative solutions will never be sought.

    This stems from a new evolving problem–that unless a situation affects government employees personally, then it will never be defined as a problem. If it is never defined as a problem, then nothing changes.

    After all, when you look at it simply, I cannot understand why would we create a community where everybody has to walk long distances from their cars or pay for parking EXCEPT FOR government employees and people with out of town license plates? Why are they the privileged ones? It is ludicrous. And I fail to see any connection even close to those near-dead-as-a-doorknob principles of “fairness” and “public good” that should be guiding government decisions.

    This is why I suggested government employees could park at Wal-mart and take the government funded trolley. They’d turn it into light rail transit in no time!


Leave a Reply

