Boobs: Unanticipated Obstacles in Course

In a previous Sea Cadet camp story, I mentioned that at 13 or 14 I was well ahead of my peers in the boob department. One camp activity that really brought that them to the forefront, shall we say, was the obstacle course. The obstacle course builds teamwork, muscles, and problem solving skills, and some problems are unanticipated, to say the least.

The course consisted of all kinds of fun, scary, and seemingly dangerous concoctions. Swinging from ropes like Tarzan, crawling on your stomach in tunnels and under barbed wire, and walking across a rope bridge. All fun, fun, fun, until I reached “the pit.”

The pit was a huge hole, about the height of 1 1/2 people. Across, there were several horizontal logs set up where you had to climb over one, under the next, and keep going over and under, then climb out of the pit with the help of your peers.

Climbing over wasn’t such a big deal, but when I had to get under the log, well, I got kinda stuck. Yup, the twins were in the way. The way I remember it, I was lying on my back, trying to push myself through with my legs, and suddenly, I couldn’t go any further. I tried going for a diagonal manoeuvre in the hopes of getting through thinking if I can get one in, then the other would have to follow.

Knees bent, pushing with my feet, and squirming under the log, I looked up and noticed my squad leader towering over the edge of the pit, watching me, with the sun’s rays glowing around him. Mortified, I felt like digging an even deeper hole to hide in for the rest of the summer.

Eventually, I did make it through to a hoopla of cheers from the girls in my squad. I’d like to say that the satisfaction of completing the course far outweighed my loss of dignity that day, but I’d have to hold my fingers crossed.

According to Wikipedia, personal embarrassment “can be caused by unwanted attention to private matters.”

Ya think?

12 Comments

  1. Kara said,

    July 11, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    ahahahahhaa too funny!! Damn boobs eh! I was scared of mine when I was breastfeeding- thought they were going to smother me!

  2. July 11, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    You crack me up, Kara. By the way, I couldn’t remember the name of the leader when I wrote the post, but it came back to me: Chester (last name). How appropriate. lol
    He wasn’t our group leader, but was a senior cadet who happened to be in charge of the obstacle course that day I guess. He also was a “Chief Gunner.”

  3. English Mum said,

    July 12, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Chester! You couldn’t have made that up. Them boobs, eh? What would we do without them?! x

  4. Moon said,

    July 12, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Well, If I had my own, I don’t think I would EVER go out …. I watching a prog on the telly the other day, girls having boob reductions, one of the girls was J cup, man, there was a lot going on there… seriously, must be bloody awful at that size …..

  5. July 12, 2008 at 10:33 am

    English Mum & Moon, thanks for visiting.
    I can’t imagine being a J-cup. It should be P for Pain. I can see going for surgery in such circumstances. What I don’t understand are young girls who get boob jobs before even having reached adulthood AND encouraged by their parents to do so. That’s where the court should step in (see http://don-tbugme.blogspot.com/2008/07/warning-do-not-let-your-children-read.html).

  6. Lynne said,

    July 12, 2008 at 11:32 am

    ROFLMHO!!!…That is just too funny….but I do feel your “pain” Sis because we come from the same gene pool….Gotta have a talk with mother….

  7. Kara said,

    July 12, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Chester!! heheheh too weird to not be true!

  8. jennynib said,

    July 13, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Hate you all from the bottom of my padded-bra wearing, Voluptuo-pill buying little heart…

    Jealous? Moi?

    🙂

  9. Moon said,

    July 14, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Yukon – Have you got a secret link into my pre-published blogs !!!!!!! thats my next post !

  10. Tiara said,

    July 15, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Hey auntie I’m sooooooooo glad that my mom finnaly said yes to the yukon trip. When I read this comment about boobs, you just cracked me up. I can’t wait ’till i see you again. Ryan moved to alberta. You’ll have to go see him sometime. I miss you.. Luv you.

    -T-bum 😉

  11. July 15, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Hey T! How nice to hear from you. I can’t wait to see you this summer! Yup, Ryan is a little closer, but in the grand scheme of things, he’s still far, far away. I’d have to drive 2 days to get to him. Well, at least it’s better than driving 5 days like before.

    See you soon!

  12. July 15, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Moon: Yup, I have ESP. Watch out!


Leave a Reply

