Bears

These bear photos are for Moon & Mrs. M.:

Black Bear

Black Bear

Another Black Bear

Another Black Bear

Grizzly Bear

Grizzly Bear

Mom & Baby

Mom & Baby (photo courtesy of a friend)

Bear Attack

Bear Attack

This is my dog, Smidgen, after a walk a couple of winters ago. She was frolicking in the snow, as usual, and I was trying to capture her photo. Of course, she kept leaping out of the deep snow toward me to play.

Smidgen's Head

Smidgen's Head

She finally popped her head out of the snow and was distracted long enough for me to snap this one.

My Fave

My Fave

Finally, I get a good picture. I know it’s the wrong time of year to be posting these winter photos, but it’s cold enough to warrant it.

10 Comments

  1. Kara said,

    July 23, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    Okay that picture with the head just poking out of the snow is awesome!

  2. July 23, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    I love it too! Every time I show it to someone, I feel obligated to tell them that, no, it wasn’t photoshopped. lol

  3. Moon said,

    July 24, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Wow, what a beautiful dog !, Can i assume a Lab / retriever ??

    I had a big lump of a dog, Murphy, looked like a black German shepard / Retriever.. loved the snow, but his paws would be frozen with lumps of snow, so he would have to chew them off (the lumps of ice, not his paws !)

  4. Moon said,

    July 24, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Loved the bears .. we have made no plans yet, but I don’t think we will doa cruise. We only have a week to go, so I guess we will fly and try to stay close to where the Grizzlies are .. I would love to watch the fish etc .. but I have no ideas yet, not had chance to look into it …..

  5. July 24, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Hey Moon,
    Yup, Smidgen is one lump of a dog too. She’s a mutt from the animal shelter, but closely resembles a flat-coated retriever. On our winter walks, I usually stop a couple of times to dig the clumps of ice from between her toes. If I forget, she stops to chew them out too.
    Let me know when you decide on your trip. This year, there were drastic price cuts on the Alaskan cruises. I don’t know what it will be like next year. But if you plan on flying in to see grizzlies, there are plenty of outfitters that would gladly show you around – for a fee, of course.

  6. Moon said,

    July 24, 2008 at 10:57 am

    It will be next year, whenever the best time is to see them … so all advice needed, I will talk to mrs M on the subject…. and also DBM, she will have some input too I guess..

    What a great hound ypou have, I love the picture where she is about to tread on the camera !!!. I miss my dog !…. I want another one !!!!!!!

    where about is a good place to see the bears ?, do you know ?

  7. July 24, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Ha Ha, that “bear attack” picture is great!

  8. July 24, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Moon: As for bears, I’ve never done a “bear viewing trip” per se, probably because I’ve never had to. I grew up in Northern Ontario where seeing black bears while driving or camping was common. Now that I live in the Yukon, I am lucky to have that same privilege, in addition to seeing grizzlies. So I’m obviously not the best person to be giving you advice if you’re spending dough to do this.

    Every time I drive to Haines Junction, Yukon and/or Haines, Alaska, I inevitably see grizzlies. Especially in Haines, AK during the salmon run. The Chilkoot River is always a great bear viewing place.

    However, because this is a planned and paid trip from so far away, you should instead look into outfitters that offer bear viewing as part of a package. I found this site that might be helpful, but, like you said, you’ll have to do some research. Here’s another site specifically for Kodiak Island.

    Also, here’s a book you might want to look at while planning your Alaska trip.

  9. July 24, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Thanks Michael, it’s one of my favourites.

  10. July 24, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Oh Moon, here’s another resource at ExploreNorth.


Leave a Reply

